Narcoossee Area History
Narcoossee Area History
From the area’s unique name to its interesting residents over time, the history of Narcoossee is fascinating and worth preserving and sharing for years to come. The Narcoossee Area Chapter of Osceola History was created in 2012 for this purpose. As the first-ever Chapter of Osceola History, our members have worked hard to, first and foremost, preserve and restore the 1886 Narcoossee Schoolhouse. Generous volunteers and public support of our numerous bake sales, arts & crafts markets, plant sales, barbecues, and other fundraising activities have allowed us to complete the exterior restoration and to outfit most of the interior of the Schoolhouse.
This beautiful wooden building is a focal point in Narcoossee and the base for our operations. In the interior, we have added period furnishings – desks, flags, maps, stove, and other historical artifacts to represent what school was like in the late 1800s in Central Florida. Open to the public during special events, visitors may experience the past as they tour the building and appreciate the differences in lifestyles then and now.
With the Schoolhouse located next to the Narcoossee fire station, our Chapter’s long-term vision is to create a Narcoossee Historical Park that consists of three key offerings – 1) the historic 1886 Schoolhouse; b) a Victorian Gazebo for special events; and c) the fire station metal building itself converted into an indoor Museum featuring Narcoossee Area history once a new station is opened elsewhere to meet the incredible growth needs of our area — all to be presented in a beautiful, landscaped green space. Our Chapter has funded plans and architectural drawings for this project and begun the process of garnering support and approval from both Osceola County and City of St. Cloud officials to make this wonderful project a reality.
Some examples, of the cool type of history to be shared in the museum, include how the Narcoossee Area is connected to the following: the first mayor of Orlando, the famous British clipper, Cutty Sark, English knights, the Sugar Belt Railroad and Henry Plant, the first-steam powered submarine, and much more. Even our unique name, Narcoossee – evokes rich Florida history as it is a derivation of the Seminole words for “little bear” which led to the black bear mascots used at both our elementary and middle schools. We remain devoted to creating a strong sense of place about Narcoossee and to continuing to educate area residents, students, and guests about this special part of Osceola County.